

MEETING OF THE MEASURE EE CITIZENS OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

09/26/2023 - 06:00 PM

Skyblue Mesa Elementary, 28040 Hardesty Avenue, Canyon Country, CA 91351

(661) 294-5300 Fax (661) 294-7525 www.saugususd.org

MEETING MINUTES



Scan the above QR code with your phone to view this meeting agenda on your phone.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance, disability-related modifications or accommodations, including auxiliary aids or services, in order to participate in the public meetings of the District's Measure EE Citizens Oversight Committee (COC), please contact the office of the Assistant Superintendent of Business at (661) 294-5300, ext. 5131. Notification 72 hours prior to the meeting will enable the Committee to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accommodation and accessibility to this meeting. Upon request, the Committee shall also make available this agenda and all other public records associated with this meeting in appropriate alternative formats for persons with a disability.

Attendees

Voting Members

John Estrada, Chairperson Julia Phippen,Vice Chairperson Judy Egan Umeck Molly Briggs Erika Derry Sam Lee Rosemary Lopez

Absent Members

Oana Cioaca Taylor Lisa Eichman

Non-Voting Members

Colleen Hawkins, Superintendent
Nick Heinlein, Assistant Superintendent, Business
Peter Gaytan, Director of Maintenance, Operations, Transportation, and Facilities
Jim Sandefur, Facilities Project Manager
Kathie Pisano, Facilities Project Manager
Dayna Jones, Facilities Accountant
Shellie Gibson, Administrative Assistant, Business

I. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Estrada called the meeting of the Citizens Oversight Committee (COC) to order at 6:03 p.m.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mr. Estrada led the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. ROLL CALL

IV. APPROVE AGENDA FOR SEPTEMBER 26, 2023

Motion made by: Julia Phippen Motion seconded by: Molly Briggs

Voting:

John Estrada - Yes Judy Egan Umeck - Yes Julia Phippen - Yes Molly Briggs - Yes Erika Derry - Yes Sam Lee - Yes

Rosemary Lopez - Yes

V. APPROVE MINUTES FROM JUNE 15, 2023

Motion made by: Julia Phippen

Motion seconded by: Judy Egan Umeck

Voting:

John Estrada - Yes Judy Egan Umeck - Yes Julia Phippen - Yes Molly Briggs - Yes Erika Derry - Yes Sam Lee - Yes Rosemary Lopez - Yes

VI. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

VII. DISCUSSION ITEMS

Mr. Heinlein reviewed the following with the committee members:

- Basic Parliamentary Procedures
- Norms of Behavior
- Board Bylaws
 - Mr. Estrada encouraged the new members to read section V of the bylaws, which explains the purpose of the oversight committee.
- Attendance policy for Citizens Oversight Committee members
 - Mr. Heinlein went over the future meeting dates and it was the consensus of the committee that the meeting dates will remain the same.

VIII. DISTRICT REPORTS

• Mr. Heinlein and Ms. Jones explained the COC Financial Report.

- Mr. Sandefur and Ms. Pisano presented the Facilities Project Update
 - Dr. Hawkins further explained about the Cedarcreek Edible School Yard.
- Mr. Heinlein presented the Contracts, Notice of Completions, and Facilities Salary Allocation reports.
 - Ms. Derry asked if the reports would be updated for every meeting.
 - Mr. Estrada responded that they would and the District does a nice job doing the reports and getting them to the committee prior to the meeting to review.

IX. ACTION ITEMS

1. Election of COC Officers for 2023-2024

a. Chairperson

Motion made by: Judy Egan Umeck Motion seconded by: Julia Phippen

Voting:

John Estrada - Yes Judy Egan Umeck - Yes Julia Phippen - Yes Molly Briggs - Yes Erika Derry - Yes Sam Lee - Yes

Rosemary Lopez - Yes

Mr. Estrada was selected to be the Chairperson for the 2023-2024 school year.

b. Vice Chairperson

Motion made by: John Estrada

Motion seconded by: Judy Egan Umeck

Voting:

John Estrada - Yes Judy Egan Umeck - Yes Julia Phippen - Yes Molly Briggs - Yes Erika Derry - Yes Sam Lee - Yes Rosemary Lopez - Yes

Ms. Phippen was selected to be the Vice Chairperson for the 2023-2024 school year.

X. FUTURE AGENDA TOPICS

None.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by: Erika Derry Motion seconded by: Julia Phippen Voting: John Estrada - Yes Judy Egan Umeck - Yes Julia Phippen - Yes

Molly Briggs - Yes Erika Derry - Yes Sam Lee - Yes Rosemary Lopez - Yes	
The meeting was adjourned at 7:11 p.m.	
John Estrada, Chairperson	Nick Heinlein, Assistant Superintendent of Business